University Profile

Chongqing Jiaotong University is a distinctive, multi-disciplinary university with a primary focus in transportation engineering. In 1951, in response to the call of Chairman Mao to build a road from Chengdu to Lhasa and develop Southwest China, the Southwest Military and Political Commission chaired by Deng Xiaoping, founded a school, which was then named Southwest Transportation Technological Academy. In 1960, the School was renamed Chongqing Institute of Communications by merging with the Civil Engineering Department of Chengdu Technological College, the Metallurgical Department of Sichuan Metallurgical College, and the Hydraulic Engineering Department of Wuhan Institute of Water Transportation Engineering. In 2000, the University was transferred from the Ministry of Transport to the Chongqing local government for administration and now it is under the joint administration of the Ministry of Transport and Chongqing Municipality. In 2006, it was again renamed Chongqing Jiaotong University, and listed as a doctoral degree conferring institution.

The University is gaining better education resources. Currently, it has three campuses: Nan’an, Western (Chongqing) Science City and Daping. Together, they occupy an area of nearly 200 hectares in total and over 820,000m2 school buildings. The university owns total fixed assets of CNY 3.617 billion. It also boasts CNY 720 million in valued teaching and research equipment, one national and six municipal level experimental teaching demonstration centers.

The University features an array of quality teachers. It today has nearly 2,200 faculty members, including over1,500 full-time teachersamong them, over 870 with senior titlesand more than 160 people enlisted in one or more of the following variety of programs: Yangtze River Scholar Program, Ten-thousand Talents Program, Hundred-Thousand-Ten-thousand Talents Program (initiated by Chinese central government), the Young and Middle-aged Experts with Outstanding Contributions Talents Program (initiated by Chongqing local government) or Academic and Technical Leaders of Chongqing Municipality.

The University is committed to the field of transportation engineering. It offers doctoral programs for 4 first-level disciplines, 3 postdoctoral programs, and master programs for 16 first-level disciplines. The University today comprises 19 schools (departments), offering 13 national first-class undergraduate programs and 38 Chongqing first-class undergraduate programs.

The University goes further to reform education. It is dedicated to optimizing the coordination mechanism of education and creating a real platform for students to practise and foster innovation. The University is focusing on "Transportation+" education to pursue creative ways to produce the best minds. Today, it has over 30,000 full-time students. The initial employment rate for undergraduates has exceeded 90% for 23 years in a row. It is also listed in the first batch of the "Chinese Exemplary University of Employment" and "Chinese Exemplary University of Innovation and Entrepreneur".

The University boasts increasingly powerful expertise in technological innovation. Currently, the University has 3 national key research platforms, including the State Key Laboratory of Bridge and Tunnel Engineering in Mountainous Areas, the National Research Center of Inland Waterway Regulation Engineering and Technology, and the National and Local Joint Engineering Laboratory of Transportation and Civil Engineering Materials, 41 provincial and ministerial-level platforms and more than 20 R&D institutions. A gallery of influential accomplishments in the field of transportation infrastructure in mountainous areas, ecological waterways, railway transport equipment, transportation and logistics, and green aviation earned 16 titles in national science and technology progress awards and national technological invention awards, and over 500 provincial and ministerial level science and technology awards for the University.

The University sees fruitful international exchanges and cooperation. It initiated the Sino-Polish University Consortium under the "Belt and Road Initiative" and established two Confucius Institutes in Benin and the United States respectively. It is a training institution authorized by the "Chinese Government Scholarship" and the "International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship", offering 6 joint programs cooperating with universities in the UK and Australia, and 3 programs outside China cooperating with universities and institutions in Thailand, Sri Lanka and Benin.

Party building guides and underpins the university development. Guided by Xi Jinping Thought on Socialism with Chinese Characteristics for a New Era, and fully implements the Party's guidelines, principles and policies, the University adheres to the socialist orientation in running schools, and upholds and improves the "president responsibility system" under the leadership of Party committees in universities and colleges, which politically safeguards its development. The University has been awarded the honorary titles of National Advanced Primary Party Organization, National Advanced Group of Cultural and Ideological Progress, and Civilized Campus of Chongqing, and has been selected as an Advanced School for the Creating National Civilized Campus Program. The University has set up the first Education and Training Center for Improving the Party's Style of Work and Upholding Integrity in Chongqing and is currently undertaking a comprehensive trial reform of "Three All-around Education" of Chongqing.

Looking forward to the future, the University will always follow the motto of "Virtues in Mind & Transport Worldwide", and the tradition of "Paving Stone Spirit". We aim to establish an internationally renowned distinctive university with a primary focus on engineering, coordinating the development of multiple disciplines, and contributing to the transportation industry, the local economy, and social development.


Tel: +86-23-62652670 62652335

Fax: +86-23-62652335

XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图