Chongqing Jiaotong University Joins Hands with 20 High-Level Universities to Launch the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone University Alliance

Date:May 13, 2020 13:18 Views:

On the afternoon of May 12th, the Founding Conference of the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone University Alliance was held at International Academic Exchange Center, Sichuan University. The Alliance is jointly founded by twelve colleges and universities in Chengdu (Sichuan University, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Southwest Jiaotong University, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu University of Technology, Sichuan Agricultural University, Chengdu University of TCM, Sichuan Normal University, Chengdu University of Information Technology, Xihua University and Southwest University of Science and Technology) and eight colleges and universities in Chongqing (Chongqing University, Southwest University, the Third Military Medical University, Chongqing Jiaotong University, Southwest University of Political Science & Law, Chongqing Medical University, Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications and Sichuan International Studies University). Main leaders, leaders in charge and departmental principals of the twenty colleges and universities constituting the Alliance gathered in Chengdu to jointly work out the blueprint for Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone. Chongqing Jiaotong University is one of the sponsors of the Alliance, and President Tang Boming, and Vice President Zhou Jianting attended the founding conference together with persons in charge of the Office of Party and Administrative Affairs, the Science and Technology Division and the Division of Industry-University-Research Cooperation.

Li Yanrong, President of Sichuan University, and Zhang Zongyi, President of Chongqing University addressed at the conference separately on behalf of chairman members of the Alliance. Members of the Alliance unanimously adopted the Statute of the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone University Alliance and released the Declaration for the Foundation of the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone University Alliance.  

Under the Statute, members of the Alliance will set up a joint innovation talent cultivation base to cooperatively cultivate top-notch talents in basic subjects, promote cross-university exchange and cultivation of students among the members and explore a mutual credit recognition system. Students in Chengdu and Chongqing are expected to share online learning resources and jointly carry out work practice, graduation design, social practice, social cultural events, and other cooperative efforts.

Teachers are expected to be jointly introduced, shared and engaged among the members, who will be allowed to teach and give instructions to students at different universities. Together, Chengdu and Chongqing will convene the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone Talent Introduction Conference to jointly recruit and train teachers. Co-effort will be made to gradually unify the policies of the governments towards staffing, talent introduction and social security for higher educational institutions. Besides, members of the Alliance will work in concert to explore the creation of a reasonable talent assessment system and assign their excellent talents to take jobs at other universities as a means of gaining experiences.

The cooperation in scientific research is the highlight of the Alliance, aiming to 1) advance mutual development of public innovation platforms, promote coordinated research on humanistic and social science and jointly carry out “Ba-Shu Culture Rejuvenation” based on existing resources and manpower of scientific research and existing advantageous scientific research fields of member universities; 2) establish the Chengdu-Chongqing Cross-Regional Joint University Laboratory to integrate S&T resources and attract S&T talents, constitute the university-coordinated innovation system for the economic zone and enhance the capability of development through collaborative innovation; 3) grant other members of the Alliances access to their national key laboratories, provincial/ministerial key laboratories and other advantageous scientific research platforms; 4) cooperatively participate in the development of the Western Science City, the “B&R” Science and Technology Innovation Cooperation Zone and the International Technology Transfer Center; 5) set up systems for scientific research exchange & cooperation and joint tackling of hard-nut problems in S&T as well as mutually declare for and undertake important national research projects or international S&T cooperation projects, and 6) found alliances for technology transfer and industry innovation, improve the collaborative and interlinking mechanism for the transfer of technical achievements and collaboratively guide market-based flows of technical elements.  


Cooperation based on exchange and sharing based on joint effort will complement each other’s strengths and achieve a win-win situation. The Alliance, following the new development concepts of innovation, coordination, green, opening and sharing, takies it as its natural mission to build the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone into a nationally influential economic center, S&T innovation base, expanded area for reform and opening-up and livable area for people to enjoy high-quality life. Further, the Alliance aims to promote connotative development of higher education in the Chengdu-Chongqing region, and will advance cooperation among its member universities in institutional development, talent cultivation, team building, scientific research, disciplinary construction, social service, culture inheritance and innovation, international exchange and cooperation as well as the joint building and sharing of resources, so as to provide talent guarantee, intelligence support and S&T cornerstone for achieving the strategic objectives of the Chengdu-Chongqing Economic Zone, the B&R Initiative, the Yangtze River Economic Belt and the Great West Development.

Prior to the founding conference, Yang Xingping, Vice Governor of Sichuan People’s Government, Liu Quansheng, Vice Secretary-General of Sichuan People’s Government and Li Jiang, Secretary of the Committee on Education of Sichuan Provincial Party Committee & Director-General of Sichuan Provincial Department of Education met with main leaders of member universities.


XML 地图 | Sitemap 地图